The Methodist-Anglican Panel for Unity in Mission

The Methodist-Anglican Panel for Unity in Mission (MAPUM) was set up in July 2009 through the merger of the Local Unity Panel of the Church of England’s Council for Christian Unity and the Methodist Church’s Committee for Local Ecumenical Development.

The aims of MAPUM are to:

  • Affirm and uphold the inseparability of Unity and Mission with the conviction that neither can be fully addressed in isolation.
  • Promote working together in mission under the Covenant.
  • Share insights, address issues, and develop resources in local unity in mission for both Churches.

The members of MAPUM are:

The Methodist Church:
The Revd John Hellyer (Co-chair)
The Revd Graham Kent
Mr David Phillips
Deacon Stephen Roe
Mrs Heather Shipman
The Revd Neil Stubbens (Co-secretary)

The Church of England:
To be appointed (Co-chair)
The Ven Moira Astin
The Ven Dr John Perumbalath
Two others to be appointed
The Revd Dr Callan Slipper (Co-secretary)

Members appointed by other churches/denominations:
The Revd Philip Brooks (The United Reformed Church)
The Revd Dr Geoff Cooke (The Roman Catholic Church)
Mrs Hilary Treavis (The Baptist Union of Great Britain)